Just joined? Do say hello!

Welcome to the forum! Do reply and say hello :grinning:

This is great @MaynardPaton - so nice to see a decent discussion forum, and not adfvn. I look forward to joining you in shares discussions. Found this after reading your BOTB blog

1 Like

Hi riccie

Thanks for the message and welcome to the forum! Aim is to maintain a high level of investment discussion without being cluttered by abuse or chit-chat. I look forward to your contributions :slight_smile:

Maynard

1 Like

thanks @ Maynard. This looks like a fantastic forum. To introduce myself, I have been investing since 2008, when I started work at one of the major London Banks as we went in to the 2008 FC. Then I saw lots of people running round not knowing what was happening to their pensions, and their banks shareprice (dropped to about 40p at one time I recall). It was at that time a few people I worked around started to go online and buy shares. I knew nothing about shares at that time. I bought some EZJ via a selftrade account I set up: £300 worth and was really fearful as I did not know what would happen… I made a teeny profit.
I had until then always been very conservative with my savings. more minded to squirrel away than to speculate. My outlook is very different now, whence I try to make my money work harder, seeing how derisory savings interest is, and the gains that can be made on the market.

I have been investing ever since. 12 years later I like to think I am a rounded investor. like you I subscribe to SharePad/SS and have done for probably 10 years.
I try and learn as much as I can and have a working knowledge of many concepts used to value and assess shares. I also read Stockopedia’s SCVR daily. I find this is very useful.